Decorating decisions – what to do in the nursery

*Warning* *very picture heavy*

When we first got pregnant we thought we probably wouldn’t decorate the nursery straight away – we are only renting our home at the moment, so didn’t want to pay out for any drastic changes like painting or wallpapering when we were planning on moving as soon as we could, and we figured the baby would be in our room for a while at first anyway.

However, we soon changed our minds and decided we would do something in the nursery.  We were lucky the walls were cream so we had a pretty neutral colour to work around. As we didn’t know the sex of the baby, we had to go for a gender neutral theme. This is harder than you think! I turned to Pinterest for some inspiration but most of my ideas involved painting the room or knowing the sex of the baby, do not very helpful!! Here are some of my original ideas:

image
Some of my original ideas, as taken from Pinterest

Eventually, we decided on a woodland theme. As we couldn’t paint, we decided we would accessorise instead and just have some key pieces of furniture.

We went shopping and decided to get the Mamas and Papas Mia cot bed.

image

It’s a gorgeous white colour and a brilliant size. The bonus of getting a cot bed is we don’t need to worry about getting a toddler bed before baby is big enough to go into a single bed. We absolutely love this cot, it’s such good quality and at a great price as well. We bought a mattress from Mothercare, on the recommendation of my sister in law.

image

Although the nursery is a decent size, once the cot was in, we only had space for either a wardrobe and changing unit OR a chest of drawers.  We decided to get a chest of drawers because we felt we could maximise the space that way. Unfortunately the matching drawers for the cot weren’t big enough, so we ended up getting the Hemnes drawers from Ikea. They match the cot brilliantly and give us tons of space. It is also a great height meaning we could put our (woodland) changing mat on top and not need a separate change unit.

image

Once the furniture was in, we set about getting our woodland accessories. Whilst getting our drawers, we spotted this green rug in Ikea, which we thought looked like grass, so we purchased that to put under the cot. I bought a few cute little touches, such as some cuddley woodland animals and a squirrel and toadstool nightlight. We even got an owl cover for our Gro thermometer!

image

image

image

 

Originally we wanted to put some cute wall stickers up, but due to having woodchip wallpaper (yes, really), we weren’t able to do this do we had to think of other ways to incorporate the theme.  I searched and searched and searched some more for a pair of curtains that were woodland themed
Unfortunately, I was unable to find any that 1) I liked 2) that fitted our window and 3) that weren’t ridiculously expensive!! So I decided to just make them despite having never made anything like that before!

image

I was so pleased how they turned out! I ended up making these at the start of my maternity, so I was 37 weeks pregnant and very, very big! Getting down on the floor to cut and pin the material was so hard, and because of that my measuring was slightly out, but overall I was chuffed with how they look.  They even have a blackout lining!

I also made some bunting to go on two sides of the nursery, and bought some great bedsheets for the cot.
pics

image

image

image

My wonderfully talented friend surprised me with a canvas painting at my baby shower for the nursery. She had secretly asked Craig what our theme was and painted a picture to match.  It’s amazing and I love looking at it when I’m doing the night feeds. Have a look at some more of her fabulous work here.

image

Speaking of night feeds, I really really wanted a feeding chair that rocked. I looked around for one, but they were so expensive to buy brand new, I wasn’t going to bother. Then I was extremely lucky to find a preloved one locally for £15!! So snapped it up and I love it. I them bought some cushions for it and made some covers to match the woodland theme (the owl is a little scary though, it was my first attempt!!)

image

image

The room is finished off by a lovely woodland clock from Matalan.

image

I then bought a lovely blanket which hangs on the end of his cot. We were also gifted a beautiful handmade blanket which was made before we’d even decided on our theme, so must have been fate!

I absolutely adore his little nursery,  and am so proud that I can say I really contributed a lot of handmade stuff to it to make it more personal to us. I love a bit of sewing and crafting, and hope to do a lot more for baby in the future.

image

image

image

image

I hope you like the nursery as much as I do! It seems we were ahead of the trends (for once) as I now see woodland stuff everywhere!!

One thought on “Decorating decisions – what to do in the nursery

  1. It looks fantastic, and your cushions and curtains are fab!! We’ve got the Hemnes furniture in our bedroom and love it, the bedside cabinets we even brought with us from our old house, so they’re 8 years old & still going strong!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

