Shower Shenanigans

It is definitely becoming more common now to have some kind of celebration before the baby arrives, and it seems most people will have what is known as a baby shower.

For those of you who haven’t heard of a baby shower before, it is a well known American  tradition to throw a party in honour of the mum to be to celebrate the imminent arrival of the new baby. Usually friends or family will host and organise the party for the mum to be. Typically there will be food, games and presents for mum and baby.

I love to plan a good party, so although my friends offered, I opted to host my own baby shower. I really wanted to organise a fun afternoon for my friend’s and family to get together, eat some nice food and play some fun games!

We used my parents garden as the venue and I decided to have a BBQ, which my dad kindly hosted! I love a good crafting session, so I made my own decorations to spruce up the garden – I hung homemade tissue paper pompoms in the apple tree and floral bunting round the shed and gazebo.

The garden set up ready for our guests
The garden set up ready for our guests

One of the reasons I wanted to organise my own baby shower was I was excited to plan some games!! We had four games:

The egg and sperm race
A baby shower twist on the egg and spoon race! I made ‘sperms’ and attached them to the spoon, then everyone had an egg and raced! We did it in two races as there were quite a few people and then the winners of each race competed to get an overall winner! This was great fun, and it felt like we were back at a school sports day!

Egg and Sperm Race
Egg and Sperm Race

She’s About To Pop!
I found this game via Pinterest  (my go to when party planning!) and it was such a laugh! The aim of the game is to put a golf ball between your knees and then get from one end to the other and deposit the ball in a pot. This was a very funny game to play,  as everyone looked liked they were waddling! The way we played was having two people at a time and each person was timed. The fastest two people then raced each other and it was the first person to get the ball in the pot who won! To add an extra fun twist, you can pop a balloon up your shirt, so it looks like you are pregnant, but I forgot to do this!

She's About to Pop!
She’s About to Pop!

Celebrity Baby Names
This was a simple matching the baby name to the celebrity parents.  I thought this would be very simple but turns out I picked near impossible names to guess!! I think the average correct guesses was 5 out of 10. So if you choose to do this game, don’t make it too hard!!

How big is the bump?
This is a typical baby shower game, but is great fun! Everyone was given a piece of  wool and they had to cut a piece to how big they thought my bump was – the results were hilarious! Most people massively overestimated  (I obviously looked huge!!)

Bump!!!
Bump!!!

I then had a few other activities that people could do throughout the afternoon, including:

Guess the weight, gender and date of the baby – this was a really fun one to do as we didn’t know own the sex of the baby so it was great to see what everyone thought we were having. I created a board with a calendar, and everyone had to use a footprint stamp using pink or blue ink for their guess.  The weight guesses were interesting as well – 10lb  10oz being the biggest guess!!!!

What is Baby Jones?!
What is Baby Jones?!

Decorate a bib for Baby Jones – I bought some cheap bibs and fabric pens and asked everyone to decorate a bib for the baby. We got some really great results!

Bibs, bibs, bibs
Bibs, bibs, bibs
Decorate that bib and guess that baby
Decorate that bib and guess that baby

Guess How Many Sweets in the Baby Bottle – I filled a giant bottle with lots of sweets and everyone had to guess how many were in there – they then won the bottle of sweets!

Baby name suggestions – I left a jar out and asked for boy and girl name suggestions.  We got some interesting offerings (my favourites were ‘Janet’ and ‘Derek’!!!)

At the end of the afternoon, we announced the winners of the games and gave out some prizes – a chocolate bouquet for the Egg and Sperm race and She’s About to Pop winners, and a sweetie tree for the celebrity baby name and guess the size of the bump winners.  These were all made by the amazing Yummeez (find her facebook page here).

Prizes!
Prizes!

I had an brilliant afternoon, and we were so lucky with the weather as the sun was shining all day! It was meant to be girls only, but some of the boys joined us later in the day for a burger, which was really lovely as well – even the dog got dressed up for me!

Dapper dog
Dapper dog

My friends and family were incredibly generous and I got some wonderful presents, even though I didn’t expect anything. The only downside was I was having such a good time, I lost track of time and didn’t get time to open my gifts with everyone which was a shame.

When everyone left, I gave out a mini baby bottle of sweets and a cupcake! I didn’t get a photo of the cupcakes though, but they had a personalised wafer topper on them.

Mini baby bottle filled with sweets
Mini baby bottle filled with sweets

My best friend also made me an amazing cake! It looked fab and tasted delicious, and was gobbled up by everyone so quickly.

CAKE!
CAKE!

I had the best day and felt so lucky to be sharing it with my friends and family. I was 30 weeks pregnant, so it was nice as I wasn’t too big and didn’t get too tired. I really enjoyed planning the whole day and was so pleased that everyone had a great time!

Now it was count down to the baby’s arrival!

Mummuddlingthrough
6 thoughts on “Shower Shenanigans

  1. I’ve been looking forward to you writing this post, as I know you’ve been really good at writing them in order. Your shower looks and sounds amazing, and what fab prizes you gave out!! I am also planning on writing a baby shower post, but it’ll probably be done for my shower’s anniversary – next April, ha!! 🙂

    Like

    1. Ah thank you, it really was a fab day! I want to do it all over again, maybe I should have a baby shower reunion next year? Is that a thing (can I make it a thing?!) Oh can’t wait for your post, your shower looked like great fun!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You may be waiting a long time at this rate, ha!! And yes a Baby Shower Reunion is totally a thing – if it’s not, let’s get it trending on Pinterest, ha!! Or you could have a Baby Sprinkle for baby number 2?! Xxx

        Like

Leave a Reply

