Everything but the kitchen sink

Everything but the kitchen sink
Pretty sure I took everything but the kitchen sink in my hospital bag!

I’m usually well known for my organisation skills. I like to be prepared and do my research so I know what’s what and who’s who – when we went to New York I had an itinerary of our trip almost down to the minute. My handover note for work was 15 pages long (and that’s not an exaggeration either!) So you would think when it came to packing my hospital bag, I’d be super organised and have everything packed and ready to go, right?

Well, no. I was very disorganised on this. From about 30 weeks pregnant, every time I saw my mum, she asked if my bag was in the car yet – erm, no, the bag is actually still in the loft…

I did however have a list – well, actually 3 lists; one for me, one for baby and one for daddy. And technically one for snacks as well! Having never had a baby before, I obviously had no clue what to pack! You don’t realise what a personal thing packing a hospital bag is until you have to do it for yourself – what is a must have for one person, doesn’t necessarily work for someone else. But everyone needs the essentials, right? I created a list using websites such as Mothercare and Boots and also asking those in the know – my Facebook baby group friends. So my “essentials” list looked like this:

Mummy and Daddy’s bag

  • Your birth plan and maternity notes (very important!)
  • Nightie or t-shirt
  • Socks x 3 pairs
  • Nursing bras
  • Pack of big cotton knickers (the bigger, the better!!)
  • Towel x 2
  • Going home clothes
  • Change of clothes for husband
  • Magazines/book/ipod
  • Bikini top for birthing pool
  • Flip flops
  • Tracksuit bottoms and vest tops
  • Make up bag (really?! Possibly not an essential, no!)
  • Breast pads
  • Maternity pads (lots and lots, you can’t have too many!)
  • Maternity disposable knickers
  • Hairbands or grips
  • Lip balm/Vaseline
  • Cooling spray for face and feet
  • Nipple cream
  • Toiletries – deodorant, toothbrush and paste, face wipes, make up remover and moisturiser, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, toothbrush and deodorant for husband
  • Your phone
  • Phone charger
  • Camera
  • Important phone numbers written on paper – just in case your mobile battery is flat
  • Snacks and drinks – water, lucozade, jelly babies, haribo, crisps, mints, cereal bars, juice, flapjacks

Baby’s bag

  • Nappies x 15
  • Sleepsuits x 4
  • Baby vests x 4
  • Water wipes
  • Scratch mittens
  • Cardigans for baby
  • Baby hat
  • Baby blanket x2
  • Muslins (20,000 should be enough!)
  • Going home outfit
  • Plastic bags for dirty clothes

This list includes a few of my own essentials like my ipod, which had my hypnobirthing cd loaded on it, and a specially created labour play list that included all my favourite songs, from Disney to Whitney Houston to Michael Buble to our wedding song. My sister told me a must have was lip balm and a fan, and a last minute addition was a hot water bottle!

I couldn’t believe how much stuff I took in the end! I figured it was better to have too much than not enough though.  Would I use it all though?  And was there anything missing?  Well, we’d just have to wait and see!

I finally packed my bags and put them in the car at 41 weeks pregnant! I think that made it all real for me, and all I could do was sit and wait for Baby Jones to arrive!

One thought on “Everything but the kitchen sink

  1. Can’t believe you left your hospital bag until you were 41 weeks pregnant!! I’d had Baby Lighty by that point!! It’s so true that what’s an essential for one mum isn’t an essential for another. I didn’t take flip flops, for example, but I did have slippers. I also for baby blankets and had to have mother-in-law Lighty bring some up!! Bad new mother! Great post, as always. PS, glad to know that we are the ones “in the know”! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

