Wayfair’s Blog it Forward

The lovely Mrs Lighty over at All Things Spliced has nominated me to participate in a wonderful kindness project by Wayfair called Blog it Forward.

During the month of December Wayfair raised over £2600 and in January they want to do even better. Here’s how it works:

Spread positive cheer by doing a good deed, no matter how big or small. Share your good deeds with Wayfair, then challenge two of your favourite blogs to do the same. For every #BlogItForward act of kindness they find before January 31st, Wayfair will donate £50 to Habitat for Humanity, an organization that helps the poorest and most vulnerable people lift themselves out of poverty by partnering with them to build their homes and communities. You can find out more about this project by clicking the Wayfair badge below:

#blogitforward

Not only did Mrs Lighty nominate me, but she also gave me an idea as to what my act of kindness could be!

I’ve always wanted to donate blood, but have been a bit of a wuss about it.  Before my pregnancy, I’d never had a blood test done, and was just so nervous!  It wasn’t exactly nice having a blood test, but also not the end of the world.  Because I’d never had a blood test, I didn’t know my blood type, but found out after my first test.

Do something amazing
Do something amazing

I discovered I am type A negative – according to the Give Blood website, only 7% of the donor population have this blood type, so whilst not necessarily “rare”, it’s a pretty low figure.  With my labour going the way it did, there was quite a high possibility that I could lose blood and need a blood transfusion, and therefore have to take donor blood.  I’m fortunate that I didn’t but it did make me decide that I need to give back.

So I have booked an appointment to give blood.  You have to wait 6 months after giving birth, but are fine to donate whilst breastfeeding.  Booking an appointment is very easy – you can do it via the Give Blood website here.  I’m booked in for April – this was the earliest I could do it at my local venue.

Appointment booked!
Appointment booked!

In a funny way, I’m looking forward to it.  Not the actual taking of the blood, because I’m still a total wuss, and highly likely to faint, but I’m looking forward to the lovely feeling it will give me knowing I have helped someone with my blood.  And I plan to make it a regular thing if I can get through my first session ok!

So, because I haven’t *technically* done my good deed yet, only arranged it, I did another good deed yesterday.  I went to London to visit my work colleagues with Alfie, and there is always a man there who sells the Big Issue – he’s been there for as long as I can remember.  It was a cold, rainy, miserable day, so I decided to buy him a hot drink.  I went for a hot chocolate, as I didn’t know his coffee/tea preferences.  Unfortunately he wasn’t actually there that day, which was a shame.  So I gave it to a homeless person instead – hopefully it would have warmed him up a little on such a cold day.

This is a fantastic project and I’m glad I got involved.  I now need to nominate someone else to #BlogItForward and hope she can take up the challenge in time:

I’d like to nominate Charlene of Note to Self:Employed Mummy – Charlene is an amazing mummy who somehow manages to juggle running a fabulous wedding business as well as raising her gorgeous daughter.

Now, I am supposed to nominate two bloggers, but so many of my blogging buddies have already taken part, it was difficult to find one who hasn’t!  So, Charlene, I’m looking forward to seeing your post about your good deed – I hope you can do it in time!

But remember, you don’t need a special reason to Pay It Forward – do that good deed you’ve been wanting to do, today!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Wayfair’s Blog it Forward

  1. Ah thanks for taking part! Such a shame that the Big Issue seller wasn’t there but I’m sure the homeless man appreciated the hot drink. I need to go back on the Give Blood website and book an evening appointment. Apparently it can take up to an hour, and I don’t think Baby Lighty will sit still in the buggy for quite that long!! I am determined to do it though! Xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

