Sweet Like Chocolate

Easter…one of my favourite times of the year. The one weekend you get to eat chocolate as much as you like and no-one can tell you off!

Happy Easter Alfie
Happy Easter Alfie

We had lots of plans this Easter weekend as it was Alfie’s first. Craig usually has to work bank holidays, but this year he had Friday AND Monday off work, so we had a whole 4 days with Daddy.

On good Friday we had my lovely friend from work come and visit us for lunch with her fiance. They had recently got engaged so we popped open a bottle of Prosecco to celebrate. We popped into my sister’s milkshake parlour Yummeez and sampled this delightful Easter treat.

The Eggstravaganza
The Eggstravaganza

On Saturday we had a bit more of a quiet day, one of my friends popped over to prepare a few bits for another friends wedding next week, but we mostly just chilled!

We had originally planned to go to church on Sunday morning for the Easter service.  This used to be a big part of my easter break as a child. We would all go to church with my nan, the adults would attend the service and the kids would attend Sunday school. I remember we got little crosses made out of palm leaves and were given a creme egg each at the end of the service. We then went back to my nan’s house for a big Sunday roast, with a big joint of lamb. Afterwards we would all exchange chocolate eggs and get stuck in! I always remember one year I got a Cadburys caramel egg with the mini caramel eggs inside the big chocolate egg. It was my best egg ever!!

All Saints Church
All Saints Church

Unfortunately, we didn’t make it to church this year. A combination of the clocks changing, meaning Alfie didn’t wake until almost 10am and Mummy forgetting to set her alarm, meant we got up to late and just didn’t have enough time to get out the door. Next year we will try harder!!

What we did do was so much fun though! Craig’s dad always used to do an inside Eaater egg hunt for Craig and his brothers  – it was a tradition. So Craig wanted to do this for Alfie! I was very excited and I don’t actually remember ever doing an egg hunt before! I gave Alfie his bath and got him dressed while Craig hid the eggs round the house. Now, I think this hunt was very hard because we weren’t given any clues – we just had to look!

Getting ready for the hunt!
Getting ready for the hunt!

We started off in the hall – the first egg was found on top of the photo frame of our family pictures. Next we went into Alfie’s bedroom. There were 2 eggs hiding in there – one being cuddled by Alfie’s cot-cot and one balanced on a frame.

The hunt begins in the nursery
The hunt begins in the nursery

Next we went into the kitchen. Because there weren’t any clues, it was so hard! I was looking in cupboards,  in the fridge, in drawers, under the sink! And I think it was extra hard because I was carrying Alfie and he is VERY heavy! He also wasn’t much help and just wanted to eat the grass from the egg basket. Eventually I found the eggs – one was hidden in a mug in the cupboard, one was nestled in the utensils pot and one was sitting in the oven (no photo is being shown of that, my oven is far too filthy!!)

We’d missed one in the hall, so we were told to have another look around. We spotted it sitting with Mr. Giraffe in the corner!

Daddy hid the eggs really well!
Daddy hid the eggs really well!

Finally we went into the lounge. I spotted one straight away placed in the ‘O’ of our family name on the fireplace.

20160327_114903.jpg

After some help from Daddy (after Mummy got frustrated at not being able to find the eggs!) all the eggs were found. One in the curtain folds (rather clever!) one on the light and one that Alfie found in his toy bus!

wp-1459211904412.jpg

The last thing we had to find was Alfie’s Easter basket, which was hiding in his toy trunk! We did get him a small egg, but he only had a tiny taste of it, so we also got him a lamb teddy, some bubbles and some sensory balls (he was also meant to get the Tomy Hide and Squeak eggs, but Mummy mucked up the reservation and so they were sold out. Alfie’s got an IOU instead!!)

Is this all for me?!
Is this all for me?!

Daddy then gave Mummy her Easter egg. I was very spolied with not one, not two, but four Easter eggs!!! I felt very bad giving my one feeble egg to Daddy, but I have been nice and shared my eggs with him (I suspect he bought me so many as he knew I’d share with him!)

Look at the goodies we got!!
Look at the goodies we got!!

We had a lovely morning doing our egg hunt, and then spent a lovely afternoon with Craig’s parents, eating a delicious lamb roast dinner and rounding it off with walking the dogs.

Easter Sunday walk to burn off the calories from dinner
Easter Sunday walk to burn off the calories from dinner

On Easter Monday we had planned to visit a new farm that had opened nearby. However, Storm Katie hit us quite badly the night before and unfortunately the farm had to close due to damage to certain areas. This put a bit of a dampener on the day! We looked at going to another nearby farm, but that was also closed and the local zoo was partially closed due to the storm. Our favourite soft play was shut because of the bank holiday so this didn’t leave us with many options! We invited Craig’s brother and his family round for the afternoon instead. They have just had a second baby, so I was desperate for baby cuddles! Unfortunately our niece was taken ill when she got round, so they had to leave pretty quickly (I did  sneak in a baby cuddle though before they left!)

We needed to get out of the house so decided to just take Alfie to the local park. it had stopped raining and was quite sunny, although still quite  windy! Alfie decided to fall asleep in the way to the park so we ended up just walking round it instead but it was lovely to get some fresh air.

We strolled back home, Alfie finished his nap, and I did some . blogging while Craig cooked us a lovely dinner – another lamb roast dinner! It was a lovely way to end an eventful but uneventful day!

wp-1459211936657.jpg

So our weekend didn’t exactly go to plan, but then bank holidays never do! At least I have LOTS of chocolate to get through now – I reckon it will last me a month at least (if Daddy doesn’t get to it first!!). I hope your weekend went better than mine!

Mummascribbles
Mummuddlingthrough
6 thoughts on “Sweet Like Chocolate

  1. Ooh I missed this post, sorry! I just saw Alfie’s cheeky little face pop up again on #coolmumclub and couldn’t resist 😉 Love the Easter Egg hunt, especially the one in the ‘O’ of Jones…you guys go all out for Easter, Mr Lighty said to me yesterday that we don’t do anything (which is true!!) so we must try harder next year too!! Xxx

    Like

    1. I must admit I choose pics with Alfie’s cheeky face to entice readers over 😂 I have to give the credit to Craig, this was all his doing. I think from now on Christmas will be my holiday, Easter will be Craig’s! Thanks for reading xx

      Like

      1. Ha! Ah that’s actually a good way of organising yourselves. Mr Lighty says that he’s going to do an Easter Egg hunt for us and our friends’ kiddies next year, so maybe we’ll do the same! Xxx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

