30 Day Blogging Challenge – Day 28

Three things you want to say to different people

To my son, Alfie

You will never know how much I love you.  You will never know how much you have changed your life.  You may have been stubborn and you didn’t come the easy way – but as they say, nothing worthwhile is ever easy!  And you are 100% worthwhile.  Every morning you wake up with the biggest smile, that never fails to make me smile, even if I’ve had 2 hours sleep because you’ve been feeding every hour, or fancied a little party at 3am.  You amaze me every day with the new skills you learn, and I thought my heart was going to explode when you said Mama for the first time!  Having a baby is an indescribable feeling, but I feel so blessed to have such a wonderful baby.  I know every mother says the same, but you truly are such a happy, smily, cheerful baby, you are a delight to have around.  I want to write this now so when you are having a tantrum because you’ve hit the terrible twos, or you are being a difficult teenager, I’ll remember what a beautifully well behaved baby you were and know that you are just going through a difficult stage and need your mum to help you through it.  So, Alfie, I just want to say you have changed my life.

To my husband, Craig

Thank you.  Thank you for putting up with your crazy, hormonal, at times complete bitch of a wife!  Thank you for never losing your shit, for supporting me in everything without question, and generally being the best husband ever!  I know there have been many, many times when you could have legitamatly asked for a divorce (honestly, I can be a horror to live with) but you’ve always known that it’s just a phase, and you know what you need to do to make me better (usually feed me or give me alcohol – I’m a simple creature really).

13116191_10156779760240567_5931740526732244062_o
I love him, even if I do now have to share my ice-cream!

Thank you for being such a wonderful father.  In those early days when I was recovering from a c-section, you did everything for me.  I spent two weeks basically sat on the sofa, my only job to feed our son.  You supported me 100% in my decision to breastfeed (although, I think you knew it meant it would get you out of the night feeds!) and have supported me ever since.  You are so amazing with Alfie – you have fun with him, you play with him, make him laugh, but you also get stuck into the dirty jobs of changing nappies (even the poonami ones) and mopping up sick.  You cuddle him when he’s upset, make him feel better when he’s poorly, and make him laugh when he’s sad.  You have taken to being a father like a duck to water and I can’t wait to watch your relationship with him grow – for when you help him with his homework, when you take him to rugby training and talk to him about his first girlfriend.  I can’t wait to watch you grow as father and son.  I’m not sure I could love you more, but I’m excited to find out if it is possible!

55997_10152248554555567_301022588_o

To my friends

Ok, so this is a group of people, but I feel they deserve a mention.  I would like to say how amazing you all are.  A lot of people say your friendships change when you have a baby, especially if your friends don’t have babies, because your priorities change, and theirs don’t.  But I can honestly say that all my friends have been brilliant.  I can see that all of them clearly love him to pieces and can’t wait to see him.  When they’re together, they take time out to talk to him and play with him, have cuddles and generally entertain him.  It means I get a break and 5 minutes to sit and rest and enjoy a guiltless hot cup of tea.  The only thing no-one has yet volunteered to do is change a nappy, but I’m working on it!  We’ve had lots of babysitting offers, and I would honestly trust any of my friends to have him.  My two best girlfriends are his godmothers, and I couldn’t have asked for better people to help guide him in life. I have no doubt that he’ll be running to them when he’s older because his mum is being mean to him, and they’ll teach him lots of naughty tricks and jokes, give him his first drink when he’s older, and generally let him get away with anything!!  All our friends our brilliant, and I want to take this opportunity to thank them for not excluding us just because we are now parents.  You are all amazing!!

Leave a Reply

